Research to support antique lovers!

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Victoria Silver, Feb 3, 2024.

1. Victoria Silver

Victoria Silver New Member

Hello everyone!

My name is Victoria and I am a student at the University of Southern California. I am researching how to improve the purchase experience of antique lovers online. Since I am a novice to antiques, I would really like to talk to some you (5-10 minutes max.)!

If you're willing to chat, please shoot me a message! I could really use your help, and I swear it's for a good cause!

Warmly,
    Vic

Last edited: Feb 3, 2024
    johnnycb09 likes this.
  2. komokwa

komokwa The Truth is out there...!

the best way to improve the purchase experience of antique lovers online , is to find a seller , selling a nice stained glass lamp for $1250. , that turns out to be a Tiffany Lamp in perfect condition.

Cha-Ching !!!!!

3. Bookahtoo

Bookahtoo Moderator Moderator

Victoria - Why are you researching how to improve the experience of buying antiques when you know little about them?
    Are you a business or software major?

mirana likes this.
  4. Victoria Silver

I am a UX Designer. I'm interested in antiques even if I don't know much about them. I thought this could be a great opportunity to dive in :)

5. komokwa

6. evelyb30

evelyb30 Well-Known Member

I hate to say it, but the best experiences are in person, not on line. Being able to clap bare eyes and bare hands on an item are a big deal.

That said, welcome aboard. This bunch isn't shy and a lot of us are/were dealers as well as collectors. We're old and know stuff.

Victoria Silver likes this.
  7. komokwa

as far as online antiques go.... to my mind...
    the auction house web sites seem to do ok.
    the dealer websites, employ designers to suit their needs
    the estate sale sites, take just the pics they need , for folks to show up..