Featured Samurai Lamp

Discussion in 'Antique Discussion' started by J Dagger, Mar 30, 2020.

1. J Dagger

J Dagger Well-Known Member

E66E1271-1E0C-4016-B9A1-E3436AD4BD60.jpeg Found this for sale, looks to be of pretty high quality. Curious if anyone can tell me anything about this one? Described only as mid century. Asking price is $100 so not maybe not a money maker but I just thought it looked nice and wanted to know if anyone could add any input on who/when/where? 24” but not sure if that includes the shade hardware or not. Seems like some Satsuma elements minus the purple maybe? 7EF88169-33F6-4412-A656-1D82E8259F83.jpeg 5C131596-FD16-4725-92A3-0E7D145AE135.jpeg DF7AA6C9-F1D7-47DB-B34E-664A517B79B0.jpeg

Rec, blooey, Any Jewelry and 2 others like this.
  2. flipper

flipper Striving to face adversity with tact and humor

While I am NO expert on most things, including Japanese art, I will say that the features in the man's face look more European than Asian. Almost a little "cartoonish" or fantastical in nature? It is a very pretty lamp, but I question its authenticity to the period and style. If it is for aesthetic purposes, I think it it great....oh, and I am not a seller, either, so....
    (Just a thought from the peanut gallery)

Lucille.b, J Dagger, judy and 2 others like this.
  3. Bakersgma

Bakersgma Well-Known Member

Speaking from the peanut gallery - that has got to be the ugliest piece of Japanese ceramics I have ever seen. High Quality?? It looks done with decals, not hand painting. $100 is an absurd price. JMHO, YMMV.

4. flipper

Besides presenting a very direct observation and opinion on this piece, I was wondering if you could tell me what YMMV means? That was not so clear. ty

5. rink28

rink28 Well-Known Member

Modern vase trying to imitate an old vase but horribly done. No way for 100.

judy and scoutshouse like this.
  6. blooey

blooey Well-Known Member