Featured Silver Visiting Card(?) Case - Possibly American ?

Discussion in 'Antique Discussion' started by 15Stiftgasse, Jul 21, 2022.

1. 15Stiftgasse

15Stiftgasse Well-Known Member

As the price was right, I've just purchased this silver case that was perhaps used to hold visiting or business cards. However, it's not the sort of thing I normally collect.
    It measures c.5cm x 8cm and is quite heavy at 137g. Under a 10x loupe, the miniature appears to be hand painted, as opposed to a print. The white side panels have puzzled me a bit - they might be bone or maybe even ceramic(?). Under magnification, tiny black dots or pitting are visible in the white. The rear of the case has what appears to be machine engraving. I'm no expert, but the case does appear to be of quite decent quality.

Anyway, to get to the point. I'm a bit puzzled by the marks on the interior of the case.
    There is an Austrian .835 silver hallmark dating from 1922 to 1953, according to my research. However, there are also the initials BF and the word STERLING 835. I always believed (perhaps wrongly?) that the word sterling was usually found on American or Canadian silver.
    Might anyone be able to suggest who the maker 'BF' could be, and whether the case could have originally have been made in the USA (or some other country) and then exported to Austria ?

Any help appreciated !!!!!

P1070676.JPG P1070700.JPG P1070687.JPG P1070693.JPG P1070681.JPG

Aquitaine, kyratango, stracci and 7 others like this.
  2. Ce BCA

Ce BCA Well-Known Member

Nice, certainly looks Austrian and if your research is right, then it's going to be at the earlier end of the dating. Are you sure it's not 935 which would fit with sterling (835 is too low), sterling is 925, but I have seen 935 and 950 continental pieces stamped sterling in the past.

Sides are likely enamel and yes, engine turning for the back.

3. Any Jewelry

Any Jewelry Well-Known Member

Beautiful!
    Yes, wrongly.:playful: