Featured Small cloisonné pot turquoise & stone tree

Discussion in 'Antique Discussion' started by mmarco102, Mar 12, 2024.

1. mmarco102

mmarco102 Well-Known Member

I have owned this for years. Would love some help with describing and dating. While it’s in fragile condition, what I am hoping to learn from anyone is whether it is in fragile condition(as it was when I first aquired it), due to age or poor maintenance over the years(possibly both?). Can this be dated by its material and design? Behind each flower are little metal sepals as seen clearly in photo 7. This is something I have little knowledge of. Have seen many jade trees out there, but this is very different.

Then cloisonné measures 4.25”L X 2.5”H with the entire item 10”H. The first image is taken indoors. The rest are outdoor lighting.

As always thanks to all for looking. IMG_1768.jpeg IMG_1769.jpeg IMG_1771.jpeg IMG_1772.jpeg IMG_1773.jpeg IMG_1774.jpeg IMG_1776.jpeg IMG_1777.jpeg IMG_1778.jpeg IMG_1779.jpeg

Last edited: Mar 13, 2024
    kentworld, CatEyes, stracci and 9 others like this.
  2. mmarco102

Just one more… :)

IMG_1781.jpeg

3. Ownedbybear

Ownedbybear Well-Known Member

Excellent photos. From the pot and tree, I think might be as early as late nineteenth. Nice thing.

4. Any Jewelry

Any Jewelry Well-Known Member

Agree. Not many of this age have survived.
    The turquoise is Hubei turquoise. Hubei is still one of the main turquoise regions of the world.
    It is antique, but it is also fragile because of the turquoise. A lot of turquoise is brittle, and nowadays such brittle stones are 'stabilized' with epoxy.
    Your turquoise was probably stabilised using beeswax or animal fat, which has also become brittle over the years. There are also some old repairs.

CatEyes and mmarco102 like this.
  5. Ownedbybear

It needs a nice glass dome.

mmarco102 and Any Jewelry like this.
  6. mmarco102