Featured Street Life In London 1877 by Thompson

Discussion in 'Antique Discussion' started by bosko69, May 26, 2024.

1. bosko69

bosko69 Well-Known Member

An amazing book (that I don't own),'Street Life In London' 1877 by John Thompson.I'd love to own just one of these plates,let alone the entire book.
    Street_Life_in_London 1.jpg St Life 6.jpeg St Life 5.jpeg St Life 3.jpeg St Life 2.jpeg

2. Figtree3

Figtree3 What would you do if you weren't afraid?

3. Marote

Marote Well-Known Member

4. bosko69

Fardon's 1856 Views of San Francisco photographic folio would work for me too.

Figtree3, pearlsnblume and Marote like this.
  5. daveydempsey

daveydempsey Moderator Moderator

The guy selling throat lozenges (pic#3)would have had a bit of a limp.

Screenshot 2024-05-27 012341.png

6. bluumz

bluumz Quite Busy

Interesting!
    I always wonder how true to life photos like these really were. I'm no photo expert, but back in 1877 didn't a photo require some serious equipment and several minutes exposure? The subjects had to be deliberately posed.

7. Debora

Debora Well-Known Member

I'm not sure how that would make them less true. Less spontaneous, of course.

Debora

bluumz and kyratango like this.
  8. Aquitaine

Aquitaine Is What It IS! But NEVER BORED!

Hoping that 'foot' rise or support ISN'T as HEAVY as it looks!!!!!:jawdrop::jawdrop:

sabre123, Marote and daveydempsey like this.
  9. bosko69

1850's Caddish English 'Fop'-damned bounder ! I believe this callow fellow is 'high hatting' those two innocents.
    1850's UK Pic.jpg

10. 2manybooks

2manybooks Well-Known Member

Photography using a wet collodion emulsion on glass as the negative (1851 - c.1881) required only a few seconds exposure, depending on lighting conditions. In 1878, Edward (Eadweard) Muybridge developed techniques fast enough to photograph a galloping horse, using a series of triggered cameras with fast shutter speeds.

upload_2024-5-26_23-54-12.png

11. Any Jewelry