Featured Stuff from my dad's possessions

Discussion in 'Antique Discussion' started by Robbie P, Feb 19, 2017.

1. Robbie P

Robbie P New Member

IMG_0439.JPG IMG_0441.JPG IMG_0437.JPG IMG_0436.JPG IMG_0435.JPG IMG_0434.JPG IMG_0433.JPG IMG_0432.JPG IMG_0431.JPG IMG_0430.JPG Hello again Antiquers! Newbie Newbie here again. My dearest wife is lovingly (ha!) prodding me to go through my late father's possessions, so here are some new photos. Please don't hit me if any of this is not worthy! They are: 1) a signature or something on a block of wood. 2) Said block of wood; 3) signature on bottom of figurine; 4) Said figurine; 5) African figurines; 6) a great bookend, hope I can find the other one; 7) Label on one of the figurines in next photo; 8) said figurines; 9) Dancing critters of some sort, South American?; 8) some cool little weights that fit together like Russian dolls. I assume Asian, perhaps Nepal, India? They have western numbers on them. So, anything interesting in the lot? Thanks!

2. aaroncab

aaroncab in veritate victoria

1 says Lignum Vite... which is the type of wood that little doodad is made of.... looks like a pencil holder perhaps.

3. Robbie P

Robbie P New Member

Yup, just remembered the Lignum vitae thang, I think I had looked it up once before and then forgot I had done so. Thanks!

4. Robbie P

Robbie P New Member

And doing further research, looks like I have a brass set of scale/apothecary weights, just in case I want to open my Ye Olde Medicine Shoppe in the future...

5. Robbie P

Robbie P New Member

Colima dancing dogs from Mexico!

6. Robbie P

Robbie P New Member

Sleeping Mexican gentleman bookend, a common motif but these are nicely done so if I find the other one I will use them.

7. aaroncab

aaroncab in veritate victoria