Table/Desk(?) help

Discussion in 'Furniture' started by christopher saradin, Jun 10, 2018.

1. christopher saradin

christopher saradin New Member

Hello everyone. I am very new to antiquing and have recently purchased a piece that I am not sure what to do with. Can anyone give me a little info, please? Was originally going to renovate, but am now thinking it would be better to leave as-is. Thank you in advance for any help.

Attached Files:

2. Miscstuff

Miscstuff Sometimesgetsitright

Christopher welcome to the forum.
    Need to ask you a question.
    If a stranger came up to you and handed you those two photos and you had never seen them before, would you know what you where looking at???
    We would love to help but have almost nothing to go on. Better pictures showing it in its entirety and if possible the right way up. Photos of underneath are also quite useful as is data on size and weight.
    Cheers
    Stephen
    P.S. the furniture experts will be along soon.

3. Any Jewelry

Any Jewelry Well-Known Member

Welcome to the forum, Christopher.
    Yes, I would welcome more pictures too. Right now it looks like I am looking at a stool floating mid air in front of things that look like kitchen appliances in a car. Since you describe it as a desk, that can't be the case.
    I was very impressed that you could get furniture to levitate, though.;)

4. christopher saradin

Yes, I know, you are right. I will unpack it soon.

5. judy

judy Well-Known Member

Hi Christopher! Welcome to Antiquers.

It looks to be a kitchen table with an enameled top.

I think they were popular in the 40's and 50's as my parents had one. Only theirs had a chrome base and blue top I believe.

6. gregsglass

gregsglass Well-Known Member

Hi,
    I agree with Judy about it being a porcelain topped table. It looks like late 1950s.
    I have one in my kitchen which gets used many times a day.
    greg

7. i need help

i need help Moderator Moderator

8. verybrad