Featured The 3-tier tazza saga....Meissen or just a pretty thing?

Discussion in 'Pottery, Glass, and Porcelain' started by sassafras, Oct 29, 2023.

1. sassafras

sassafras Well-Known Member

There are certain things that I keep lounging around my house because I just find them interesting. Not the most valuable or beautiful things, just interesting. This tazza falls in that group. I walk by it every day and (depending on my mood) admire it or give it the side eye...like it's a fraud creeping around my dining room. I think I have him figured out, but would love to hear everyone's opinions on it. :) 20231026_135508.jpg 20231026_135518.jpg 20231026_135635.jpg 20231026_140450.jpg 20231026_140458.jpg 20231026_140512.jpg 20231026_135705.jpg

2. i need help

i need help Moderator Moderator

3. evelyb30

evelyb30 Well-Known Member

I was thinking Meissen before I ever saw the mark. Almost had to be theirs.

4. Any Jewelry

Any Jewelry Well-Known Member

I am no expert, but don't Meissen figurines have more detailed hands?

5. judy

judy Well-Known Member

Hi Sass!

Beautiful tazza!

i need help and Any Jewelry like this.
  6. sassafras

Thanks, @i need help ! So good to see you. The link you posted is the only other time I've seen this particular figure on a blue onion tazza. There are lots of them out there with adults and children, but I'm so glad you found my fella's twin. Thank you so much for finding it! Interesting that it has the Teichert Meissen mark.

Hey, @evelyb30 ! One of my concerns was that it's pretty sloppy for Meissen, however IMHO "Blue Onion" is pretty sloppy on the whole. :)

Thanks for dropping by @Any Jewelry . Wonder if the fact that it's tableware would have anything to do with the less detailed hands? Less of a chance of breaking tiny fingers if someone were to pick it up by man rather than the base. The tazza is 21", but he's only about 5 1/2" tall.

Well...hello there, @judy ! So glad to see you. It's been far too long, my friend. :)