The "Amyl" roll top desk questions

Discussion in 'Furniture' started by Newcomer_Marc, Jul 20, 2015.

1. Newcomer_Marc

Newcomer_Marc New Member

Hello Antiquers,

For some time I've been searching for 'antique' furniture for my room, you see I'm a student so my budget is limited. Two days ago I found a roll top desk not far away. The previous owners had used it for 30 years and are very fond of it, however they wanted to sell it.
    My intent is to restore or refinish this desk (but not to sell it) coming summer because I have some spare time and I would enjoy it.

However, I've never restore or refinish furniture before. I want to restore it to it original state. I'll add some photo's down below.
    For one I don't know anything about this desk, I've searched this forum before posting but haven't seen it yet.
    Second, I don't know how to restore it. For example, how can I check if the desk is waxed or not etc.

I hope this is the right forum to post any of these questions and if possible get advice on how to restore this desk to its former glory.

Many thanks in advance!

P.S. The key is missing so I've taken out the lock in order to check the roller. It seems like one slat is loose. If necessary I can provide more photo's (with pleasure)

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Jul 20, 2015
    KingofThings likes this.
  2. verybrad

verybrad Well-Known Member

Really looks like it doesn't need all that much work. I would start by cleaning it well with mineral spirits (white spirit in the UK). This should remove any wax or other oil-based grime. If there are any spots that don't come clean with the mineral spirits, clean them with soap and water but try not to get the wood too wet.