Vintage dresser

Discussion in 'Furniture' started by Brett Alyea, Jan 29, 2019.

1. Brett Alyea

Brett Alyea Member

Hi guys and gals. Hoping to learn more about this dresser. I looked up the manufacturer's info but couldn't find too much on it. Plan is to refurbish it with Restor A Finish and 0000 steel wool. I'm open to advice as this is my first attempt to restore a piece of old furniture. 20190122_211534-1024x768.jpg 20190122_211523-1024x768.jpg 20190129_145829-1024x768.jpg 20190129_145948-1024x768.jpg

Christmasjoy and pearlsnblume like this.
  2. Bakersgma

Bakersgma Well-Known Member

Nice dresser! And I bet most of us here are happy to see your plan to spruce it up and NOT PAINT it! :singing:

I'm sure that @verybrad will have advice.

Ghopper1924, Figtree3, judy and 5 others like this.
  3. clutteredcloset49

clutteredcloset49 Well-Known Member

Restor - A - Finish is a good product and easy to use. I'd follow it up with their Feed and Wax.
    For a novice it's a good start.

Brad deals in furniture and refinishes a lot. He will have good advice from that angle.

4. James Conrad

James Conrad Well-Known Member

Sounds like a plan! Not sure about steel wool though, i notice many who do a lot of refinishing have switched over to synthetic scrubby thingys because with water based top coats which are popular now, steel wool will rust.
    Wait for @verybrad , he will know.

5. verybrad

verybrad Well-Known Member

As noted, Restor-a-finish is a good product and easy to use. It proves a quick method for sprucing but will not make it look like new. No problem with using steel wool, as it is not water based. The ring on top is problematic. The Restor-a-finish will make it look better but will not make it go away. The top really needs to be stripped and refinished properly to have it look its best.