Featured What type or name of furniture

Discussion in 'Furniture' started by Antiquated1, Sep 28, 2021.

1. Antiquated1

Antiquated1 New Member

I hope I’m doing this right since I’m not that good with technology. That’s a crazy thing to say these days since it’s 2021 I know.. but I’m old. Ha

I’m trying to figure out what or rather how to word my search for dressers with a solid wood bottom instead of the fancy valance skirt that most I have found tend to have. I think it’s called a valance skirt anyway. I’ll include a couple pictures. One with the fancy skirt & one that’s solid like I’m looking for.
    [​IMG]
    the above is the solid wood skirt like I’m looking for the name of if there is such a name. And the below is the option that I already have & am looking to replace this style due to grandkids having small pets.
    [​IMG]
    I’ve been a long time watcher/reader of the forums but never needed to post or create an account until now. I’m looking to buy the solid wood bottom types but I am unsure how to word the search & have been unsuccessful in finding anything thus far. Thanks for any help ahead of time.

2. i need help

i need help Moderator Moderator

3. James Conrad

James Conrad Well-Known Member

The top photo is called a "Plinth" base.

"What is a plinth base in furniture?
    It is a plinth base, and it has become very popular in all types of design spaces. A plinth is defined as an architectural detail, usually a box or a platform in which, historically a column rests on. It adds a unique modern detail to a space. Here are some of our favorite spaces that incorporate plinth bases."

4. Fern77

Fern77 Well-Known Member

I've read the plinth thing in some catalogues, but when a piece has no legs or feet is also said to be a pedestal base. Your fancy skirt is generally interpreted as having bracket feet (the piece is raised on shaped, mostly two-dimensional, pieces of wood-- be it carved out of the same board as the apron or separate).

5. Lark