Featured Bedouin or Yemenite Belts? Also, tips on Ethnic jewelry books?

Discussion in 'Jewelry' started by Barn Owl, Apr 23, 2020.

1. Barn Owl

Barn Owl Well-Known Member

I picked up these two belts today (online), and I'm trying to figure out more about them. The seller said that he acquired them in Pakistan in the 60s, but when I researched them, other similar ones were listed as Yemenite, Bedouin, or Saudi Arabian. I don't know if they're silver and didn't pay too much for them (the verdigris on the last picture makes me a bit uncertain), so I won't be devastated if they aren't silver, but I'm curious to know their origin.

Also, if any of you can recommend books on folk jewelry, I would love to learn more. I am very drawn to folk jewelry, especially belts.

Thank you everyone!

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

judy, KSW, reader and 5 others like this.
  2. evelyb30

evelyb30 Well-Known Member

I'm a beginner with stuff from that part of the world myself, but someone will be along shortly. Some of our European members really know the Middle Eastern bits and bobs.

judy, KSW, reader and 2 others like this.
  3. Barn Owl

I'm very clueless when it comes to it. I have a habit of picking up anything that looks cool and folksy, which is how I've ended up with a large stockpile of modern stuff... :banghead:

judy, KSW, reader and 3 others like this.
  4. Any Jewelry

Any Jewelry Well-Known Member

Very nice, Barn. Both are Yemeni, well done on the research.:happy: They look too old to be Yemenite, which would be made by Yemeni Jews in Israel. I think these were made in 'the old country', Yemen itself. Probably early 20th century.
    Many Yemeni silversmiths were Jewish, so that could be where the confusion is. They made jewellery for all Yemeni confessions and communities though.
    When it comes to Yemeni jewellery, my favourite is 'Silver Treasures from the Land of Sheba', by Marjorie Ransom, an excellent book.